Punishment

I have done things in the past that I am not proud of.

I have lived with my mistakes, and I have bathed in the consequences. I took paths that I don’t regret, but I wish I had chosen better. I am stitched with flaws, and they are a part of me now. It’s a burden that I am bound to carry throughout.

I wish I had some people still sitting next to me, but all I have today is their memories. I kiss the past even though its lips are fenced with barbed wire. I bleed every night through nostalgia and melancholy.

I do apologize for the things that I have done. But I don’t apologize for being myself. I don’t apologize for surviving through foggy nights and colder mornings.

-The honest musing

12392069_917017888348138_6506871813711213058_n

4 thoughts on “Punishment”

  1. I’ve always thought that part of the adventure of life is learning to live with the choices we make. I really like the way you express that idea here.

    Like

    1. What you just said made me think of another quote by Vivian Greene (though probably there is no connection between the two) about “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass…It’s about learning to dance in the rain.” That’s the adventure part, learning to dance not only during storms but throughout every season.

      Liked by 1 person

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

