The Way We Were

Scattered pictures of the lives we left behind…

Being nostalgic is a sign of getting old. Is that true? I notice that more and more I’m longing for the years gone by my one foot is practically anchored in the past and if I could my body would soon follow to take permanent residence there.

The good old days…

Memories tend to sweeten and take on its own story and make everything looks like a fairy tale. So much so that the more we get older the more we talk about what had been, whether it is about people, culture, things, tradition and music.

My husband said to me the other day that all the musicians he likes and admire are dead except Björk. That was after he heard about the news of Bowie leaving us behind. Freddy (Mercury) is dead, Michael (Jackson) too, James Brown is no more and now Bowie.

I told him Skunk Anansie is still there and  Aphex Twin is still alive, but he said it is not the same (whatever that means) perhaps he meant legendary musicians, the ones who will be forever engraved in people’s memory, the ones who created mysteries and rewrite history. I don’t know. For me  Björk doesn’t sing, she talks. She talks like a kid trying to pronounce her first letters correctly. Bowie always sounds the same. If you’re not a fan and listen to his songs you would think that he is singing the same song over and over again. I prefer him better as an actor. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence is my favorite. He’s one of the few who has the ability (others are Nicholson, Pacino, De Niro and McQueen) to become  the character instead of acting. Jeremy Irons is a master of this trade. 

Michael (Jackson) songs are difficult to understand, the accompanying instruments overpower his voice (I don’t know if it was the intent) and he always sings in what my father called pussy voice. Pity because his natural singing voice is better than that. I heard him once doing baritone and to me he sounded better. And Freddy… there is/was nothing special about him. He got no distinctive sound like Sting, Stewart, Adams or Karen. Something that sets them apart from the rest that when you hear them sing, you can say there is no doubt that’s this or that singer.

But yeah… to each his own. 

I don’t even want to start about films and actors, movies that have stories and meaning instead of pretty faces with no talent or whatsoever. And books! Dan Brown (his books are glorified travel guides) and Harry Potter (I know Harry’s mother is J.K. Rowling) Twilight Saga and Fifty Shades Of Gray. How on earth they managed to make it? Hired a marketing genius? Seem people don’t care about quality anymore. I don’t even know what they care about lately. 

How about juke box? Morals, values, respect, tradition and peace? Greener earth, simple living, happier times and no rat race? Oh, and relationships… Any kind of relationships. Family bonding, communication and understanding, true love and staying together. Fidelity, loyalty healthy food and better sleep. Don’t forget neighborly and friendly, where are they now?

Proverbs said that the good old days are now. That we gonna look back sometimes and ten years from now we think, ‘Boy, those were great old days.’ Well, you know, we’re living in the good old days. In every age ‘the good old days’ were a myth. No one ever thought they were good at the time. For every age has consisted of crises that seemed intolerable to the people who lived through them. What you end up remembering isn’t always the same as what you have witnessed. And remembrance of things past is not necessarily the remembrance of things as they were.

Whatever it is, true or not it sucks.

It sucks, it really does, when you are up in the middle of the night thinking about the things that you’ve suddenly became aware of. The things you’re missing out on right now, and all the people who are not close to you anymore, and all of the good times that will never happen again, and all the people who have meant the world to you who have forgotten about you forever, and you get this awful feeling that’s kind of like a mix between loneliness and nostalgia. – Abraham M. Alghanem

 

hqdefault

14 thoughts on “The Way We Were”

  1. I enjoy this “rant” as it’s core is evolving around a quest to find quality and the pure things in life. I find many parallels with my own way of thinking, doing and living, perhaps on a different path but still the same core. I seek respected craftsmen and their art of making, the purity that comes from good craft instead of the mainstream powerhouses that are destroying this world. I seek the heart and soul in music, longing for those “nostalgic” good ol’ days of jazz, rhythm and blues (for f**ksake I’m 32 and yearning for the 50s). So keep ranting and I will rant alongside you till the whole bloody world is ranting. And then we find peace and harmony in purity. And music. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m glad someone understands where I’m coming from. People are so busy nowadays they don’t have time anymore to think and contemplate and enjoy simple things that make this life worthwhile. In this time and age where hypocrisy and falsehood are highly rewarded and herd mentality is the norm and images and status are more important than relationships, I find it is becoming harder and harder to be inspired.

      Liked by 1 person

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

