My Blog’s Year in Review

It’s almost New Year. Another year is about to end, Dr. Seuss said: “How did it get so late so soon? Its night before its afternoon. December is here before its June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get so late so soon?” And it is indeed true. Time really does fly.

I want to take this opportunity to look back on my blogging year and to reflect on what had happened during my one  year escapades in the blogging world. It was around this time that I decided I want a place for myself. Somewhere I can be me, somewhere I can speak my thoughts and feelings without fear of being judge. Born of that want is this page, a personal online diary of some sort. Designed not to please everybody or to be popular but to put down what’s weighing my mind.

In the beginning I thought nobody would notice what I’m doing, I will sink in anonymity in this vast sea of thinking people, this is a perfect place to hide, no one knows me, I can talk my heart out without bothering anybody. I was elated.

But for some reasons I still can’t understand, people do came and some of them stay! How could that be? Because my blog is designed to satisfy my inner being I know that it will never be anyone’s cup of tea. It has no structure, no niche, I write in random with no specific topic in mind and I dish it out there raw and pure without embellishments. I can’t believe what I cook would please anyone’s palate. Apparently I was wrong!

After one year this is how my blog looks like in black and white:

View – 29,151 

Visitors – 10,551

Likes – 12,247

Comments – 5,609

Posts – 476

Followers – 915

(WordPress alone/other social media not included)

People come and people stay. They talk to me and read my thoughts, hear my voice and though I am not part of any social club and prefer my own company (Let me borrow a quote from Charlotte Brontë  “I care for myself. The more solitary, the more friendless, the more unsustained I am, the more I will respect myself.”) it don’t bother them much. For that, I’m immensely grateful.

So, here’s to another year of collaboration, I hope you will be there as I continue my journey and keep me company when the going gets tough. Thank you for the support and encouragement and for your continuing presence. I’m glad you’re here…

sc-through-dorsay

14 thoughts on “My Blog’s Year in Review”

  1. Congratulations on such a great accomplishment! I know the numbers are one thing, but the interaction is another thing entirely. I am amazed that people want to read my words, and in your case, I think the answer to why some of us stay is because you never seem defeated. Not by the things in your past you write about, and not by the pain you live through physically. I’m sure you must have difficult moments but the fact that you sit down in front of the computer and tell us what you are thinking is refreshing in this day and age. I for one am very grateful to have come across your work and I shall continue to read your blog and admire your photos. Happy New Year to you.

    Like

    1. You’re one of the few I have no problem talking and glad I came across. You speak your mind but with proper respect and you behave as you are – an adult. Happy New Year to you and your lovely wife. I hope we continue bumping into each other around here. Take care.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. I guess I was just brought up to always be respectful. Even when it is not pleasant, it always is a good idea to be honest, yet respectful. It is a pleasure to know you, and I know we will continue to follow each others work. All the best.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you’ve had a great year! Good luck in the New Year! I hope you continue to enjoy your blogging journey 🙂

    Like

      1. Thank you! And, yes, we’ll see each other around in the coming year, I’m sure 🙂

        Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

