If Walls Could Talk

I long for a career walking through empty houses vacated of all furniture and personality, walls once full of love and memories now bare with chipping paint and talk of being alone forever. Do you think if houses could talk they would tell you of all the people who walked through their lonesome hallways with no intent to return?

Do you think if walls could talk they would tell you of all the crayons that have been pressed against their plaster skin creating masterpieces that can’t be painted over? What about the day your dad got so drunk he punched right through the memories and your brother years later with chalky knuckles following in his footsteps? Would the windows board themselves up after you left?

Do you think the air vents still carry the sound of your mom telling your dad she doesn’t love him anymore? Do you think that house is waiting for someone to come along and fix it up again?

I spend my Saturday mornings furniture shopping for things that aren’t there and won’t ever be there. Do you think houses are like people or people are like houses because I can walk up cracked concrete steps everyday and I can run my hand down the oak door wondering how many people have stood in my spot before and if their legs ever buckled ?

I can grab that cold metal knob but I can’t ever turn it because I’m not ready to confront the crumbling walls of a house that was once a home.

– Kelsie Byers

Abandoned_House_by_Vonjuntz3

29 thoughts on “If Walls Could Talk”

      1. Lot’s of work and hassles but I love it. Nursing old homes back to life. Someone said to me probably that’s why I got a degree in nursing. But I rather nurse buildings than people.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They have a way of letting you hear their thoughts, buildings. But that is not the reason why I rather do houses. The sheer responsibilities of handling lives and emotions are too much for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I can understand that. I wouldn’t want that either. That’s why I work in an office ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll bet buildings have ways of talking. You ever find a truly haunted house? My sister used to be obsessed with that. I don’t know if I believe in haunted houses for real.

        Like

      4. Mel, believed it or not, I constantly see something. I even once transformed into someone else but have no recollection of the event. D. Told me everything. One time while on holiday, he even recorded in video one episode as a proof that he was not lying. It was scary.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. No idea. Maybe they over medicated me and the presence didn’t want it. The woman who possessed me is/was Margaret Hamilton (and so they say) and came from somewhere in Dorset and speaking old English language they had to look up to understand with an aristocratic English accent and apparently married to a Lord or something. For the love of God I don’t know how to speak with an English accent let alone get rid of my non native speaker accent. Besides, Belgium don’t speak English in general and I live here a lot longer than my own birth country.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post! Simply beautiful writing. There’s a song that deals with a similar topic. ‘These walls’ by Kendrick Lamar form his album ‘To Pimp A Butterfly’ and has a similar atmosphere going for it. Thought you might be interested. Great post again, and happy holidays ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

