Travelling Solo

“Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens.”

— J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

My life so far had been a long and arduous journey. Still is. Most of it, I did on my own. No friends, no family.

Along the way I’ve met and overcome all forms of evil. I didn’t come out of the experience unscathed. Some wounds are still bleeding.

On this journey I have met exceptions that restored my faith in humanity. But those are few and far between. I  cherish and carry them with me to guide and keep me on track. There will be no hope if there is no faith. We have to believe in something to sustain hope. We need hope to go on. We have to go on if we want to stay alive. So simple is that.

I have chosen to go on no matter what. It doesn’t mean I don’t entertain the idea of giving up. At times, like now I am ready to end it all. Something keeps me from doing it. I don’t know what. Maybe hope.

Halfway the journey, I’ve met Sam. Frodo’s Sam. 

Innocent, childlike, inexperience and not without faults. But loyal and dedicated. In his own ways, courageous. He refuses to give up. His continuing support, unconditional love and understanding baffled me. When the going gets tough, I told him to pack and go home. He’s still here. Good.

Together, we hope to reach Mordor and break the curse. Wish us a safe journey. 

27

13 thoughts on “Travelling Solo”

  1. I’m not sure why but your post reminded me of a book called The Girl the Seven Names: A North Korean Defector’s Story. It’s an incredible story and if you have time, check it out because it might give you some more hope 🙂

    Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

