When I’m Not Writing

What do you do when you’re not writing? How do you reset and return to this dashboard, refreshed? What do you need in your day-to-day life to maintain balance?

For those who are familiar already with my blog, you know what keeps me busy when I’m not writing (if that’s possible because whatever I do I always write in my head) for those who visit for the first time you can check my about page. It is crammed with images of my hobbies.

Aside from those pastimes I love travelling. In my photography blog (which is still on the drawing board) I put a quote that goes like this: 

“The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”

I believe in it. My upbringing, my background and my nature made me a wanderlust; a gypsy, a nomad by heart. But I don’t travel as much as I used to like I don’t hike 25 kilometers per day anymore. The reason why you can read here. The same reason why I am not able to draw or paint these days.

So, what do I do when I’m not writing? Keeping busy with design. Interior design, landscaping, renovating period houses, giving color and style advice, coaching… watching people, observing them, absorbing life and learning.  Talking to strangers, hear what they have to say, smiling to babies and old people; trying to live in general.

What about you?

live-life-15

28 thoughts on “When I’m Not Writing”

    1. I rather have a wonderful career that send me everywhere in the world, be forever a bachelor living in a renovated old factory modern minimalist loft and having one night stands whenever I like no string attach and never in my place, no children no family no friends.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah. People are born alone, sleep alone, make own decision alone, suffer pain alone, die alone and equipped with amazing capabilities to bounce back no matter what. When it comes down to it, people don’t really need anyone constantly. they are okay on their own only most of the times they don’t realize it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s why there is one night stand 🙂 Just kidding. I didn’t even experience one. I think it depends from person to person, how they want to live their lives. Different person different wants different needs different point of view. Mine are usually far fetched and murky.

        Like

  1. Lately what I do when I’m not writing is thinking about writing more. Something inside me turned fairly recently which has led me to that. It used to be I would plan my blogs and then write them gradually. Now I think about lots of ideas. Obviously I take photos and listen to lots of music. But I don’t just listen to music for background noise. I love the nuance, the combinations of instruments working together that I enjoy. I also read, something I have never stopped doing since I was a boy. Doesn’t matter what it is, history, poetry, fiction. I enjoy going for long walks. Even in the middle of the city I can still feel a sense of isolation when I go out walking. It is where I get a lot of ideas for writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Im a fellow traveler. Photos fill my writing gaps. The search for a new adventure weighs heavy on my mind. The map is filled with strange unseen worlds. Someone has to go there, who better qualified? Actually my job affords me time off

    Like

      1. Last trip was California desert. I took a SUV down thirty miles of jeep trials. Nothing bigger than a nine inch drop but the views!

        Like

      2. I’ve been through all the fifty states and only scratched the surface of Canada and Mexico. I usually go on five to eight day trips which limits my time and plane fare eats at the budget. So I can fly cheap to Las Vegas and Pheonix, and I love the desert so there are many trips to the South West US.

        Like

      3. You can’t beat the views. It’s several miles in most places. Rough mountains, giant trees, torturous landscapes, so many great places to see.

        Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

