My Brother Tom

I have chosen the image above because it reminds of a rare, hard to find and Out Of Print on VHS not available on commercial dvd 1986 Australian mini series about sectarianism in a small country town.  

It is about a blossoming love affair between the lovely Peggy MacGibbon and the energetic Tom Quayle. Their forbidden relationship becomes the focal point for a powerful conflict between two religions.
The laughter, joy and passion of teenage love, set in the colourful life of a country town, brings together a mini-series of rare quality.

I am not into anything romantic, I don’t do reviews and this is not my usual  manner of blogging as you probably know by now, but I saw this series the first year I came to Europe. I was so young then and didn’t absorb the real meaning of the story. In fact, I don’t remember anything about it except the scene where Tom and his friends are swimming in the lake one summer, diving from a wooden swim platform. Not unlike the image above. 

I am still searching for it but to no avail. It is not available anywhere. Pity because I would love to see it again. There is something special about it. It is more than a story of some small town divided by much bigger conflict than the river that runs through it…

It is not just a love story. It’s a tragedy that downplays the effect of war on the towns doorstep. A tragedy that shatters every man, woman and child who lives there… 

For those who are curious what is sectarianism. Here is the explanation: Sectarianism is a form of bigotry, discrimination, or hatred arising from attaching importance to perceived differences between subdivisions within a group, such as between different denominations of a religion, nationalism, class, regional or factions of a political movement.

The rest you can read here if you’re curious.

12074708_903406556419848_8222640502094196404_n

6 thoughts on “My Brother Tom”

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

