Networking

…interact with others to exchange information and develop professional or social contacts.

For Today’s Task, we’re prompt to expand a comment we made earlier into a full blown post. I found out I have no desire to do so. It is not because of lacking substantial comments to choose from, I just don’t feel the need to rekindle old conversations unless it is really, really necessary. Luckily they give us a couple of options to chose from. One of those is: to free-write on the topic of comments in general; and of all the alternatives, this is the one that looks more appealing to me so I decided I would give it a go. To give our brains the nudge, they provided us with these wonderful ideas:

  • What’s the best comment or compliment you’ve ever received?
  • Do you have a blog comment policy?
  • Do you enjoy online discussions, or do you thrive better in person?

Before I go into that I would like to discuss first my personal takes on networking. First: I write sensitive topics that (I know for sure) don’t appeal to most people in general. Let’s say my posts are not everybody’s cup of tea. Therefore they don’t really prompt readers to comment, which I can understand. What would you say to someone who is harboring deepest irrational fears and turning her house into an arsenal for no valid reasons without offending her sensitivity and sounding like a psychiatrist or patronizing?  

Placing a comment in one’s blog take courage. You don’t know where it will lead you. Which others might say: it’s a sort of adventure bring it on. Easier said than done of course. The proof of that is about ninety percent of readers keep it to customary “well done-great blog-love it- sort of comments. Don’t misunderstand me, there is nothing wrong with it, comments no matter how generic and uninteresting they are is better than none. Getting someone to say something to you is evidence enough that you are visible and there are people out there who actually read you. Isn’t it wonderful?

Though I don’t get that many comments, the ones I get are mostly deep and substantial and often longer than my own blog. I cherish and appreciate those. And I always answer to comments, meaningful or not. I find that the least I could do is to return their effort. If people is nice enough to give to you some of their precious time, appreciate it at least. Especially when I do not go out much to check out the neighborhood and smell the flowers. You see, I am an hermit. Cyber or real life. I prefer/like to keep busy with my own affairs. I have plenty enough in my head as it is without going out there and leaving senseless comments on topics that don’t interest me. But if once in a while I stumble upon blogs that impress me, I see to it that I leave my footprints out of real interest without expecting nothing in return.

I am aware that my way of blogging is not ideal but this is me. I cannot change myself for the sake of votes/likes/comments and follow. Maybe someday I will learn the joy of real networking but for the meantime bear with me.

Now, I promised to tackle the three ideas they gave us at the beginning of this post and I always keep my promise. I have Palabra de Honor (grin)

  • What’s the best comment or compliment you’ve ever received?

Like I said before, I appreciate and cherish every comment I get. I am grateful of those who make an effort to reach out and talk to me. And I’m not good at dealing with compliments. They make me uneasy. I don’t know how to answer them.

  • Do you have a blog comment policy?

Yes. Respect is on the top of my list. Observe golden rule and you will be okay.

  • Do you enjoy online discussions, or do you thrive better in person?

I am a good conversationalist and a genuine listener (so I’ve been told) I captained a debate team more than once and I did lots of impromptu versified debate in my time. When I graduated from college, my mentors told me to broaden my horizon and go into psychology. I think that says enough.

When it comes to any discussion online or not, there are three quotes that I live by. Here they are:

  • I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it

  ~ George Bernard Shaw

  • Don’t argue with idiots. They’ll drag you down to their level then beat you with experience.

~ Albert Einstein 

  • Never engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed man.

~ Churchill

I hope this is enough to warrant some serious thoughts from the readers.

timthumb

11 thoughts on “Networking”

  1. I agree, but always enjoy giving and getting feedback, from all readers. If it were rude and so far not. Then dumped or blocked, Now rude does not cover frank. So often a frank exchange brings more enlightenment on the subject. Nice port on a difficult subject! Cheers Jamie.

    Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

