The Real Me

I will be gone for my annual holiday. I scheduled few posts as not to leave my readers empty-handed but I can’t answer comments. I made it a solemn promise to myself not to touch computer or any electronic gadgets while roaming around. That’s my way of setting myself free from the norm and the rat race. I’ll be back soon cross my heart. Here is a little goodbye poem from my archive. I didn’t know who wrote this and can’t remember anymore from where it came from but I love it just the same. Till then…

THE REAL ME

I‘ll leave for a while but I don’t know for how long or where?
My fill-in will take over while I’m not there
She doesn’t laugh as often and her eyes aren’t quite as dark
Please be patient with her if she seems aloof to you
Her demeanour is serious and her social skills aren’t great
Instead of partying, she’d rather sit home and contemplate  

Before you judge her and tell her she’s not fun
Remember she has a lot to do and she wants to get it done
I loathe coming back from trips like this, to undo her damage
I think she’s worse each time I leave (and it’s getting hard to manage)
This time, before I left, I wrote down traits of the real me
The things I am, the things I’m not, the things I long to be
So here it goes, written down in prose, my personality:

Loves to laugh, to dress with class, though simplicity is a need
learning to dance, longs for romance, and to smile is to succeed
A personal critic can lean towards cynic, perfectionist if you will
Has a sharp mind, should ignore it sometimes, listening is my skill

Nonconforming- music-adoring- perpetual little child
Loves dirty jokes and happy folks, and longs to just go wild
A leader of men, skilled with a pen, who finds it hard to bend
Blessed with a soul not much self control can be anyone’s friend

My fill-in does not meet the requirements of this list
Inside her mind you’ll find only a trace of me exists
Sorry I had to go, I don’t know how long I will be
But please be patient with her!

Sincerely, The real me

travelling_girl-wide

6 thoughts on “The Real Me”

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

