How Are You?

… that’s the question I hate to be asked. The truth is_ nobody really want to know. People are just being polite. They expect the customary answer of : Yes I’m fine, how are you, how’s your family the weather, the dog, your job, your philandering husband etc.

Imagine when someone asked let’s say at work at the coffee/vending machine and you tell them the truth like:

“Ah, I don’t feel fine, not for a long time already, in fact since I was born. You see I hate this freaking life. The only reason why I don’t say goodbye to this cruel world (actually it’s not the world that is cruel for this is a wonderful, beautiful world full of gorgeous scenery) is because I am a catholic and even though I doubt the existence of heaven and hell deep down inside I still believe in the possibilities that those places really exist you never know and I don’t want to be punished for taking my own life for I suffered already enough in this one I don’t want to suffer again where I’m going. And my family… you asked about my family? Well, they are lying, thieving bunch of no good who will betray each other including me, mostly me in order to get what they want. Not what they deserved but what they want it doesn’t matter if it’s not theirs to take.”

And you go on and on about why it is that you are not feeling fine. I wonder if they are going to ask ever again: How are you?

handshake-550x364

21 thoughts on “How Are You?”

  1. I had friend text me how are you and so I laid it on her! lol she responded with oh I did not expect all that. but since she is an old friend she has kept in touch and been checking up on me, I must try it on a stranger one day 😉

    Like

    1. True. I have also a dear friend who takes me even on my bad day. Sadly since I moved we don’t see each other much anymore aside from occasional phone calls and holiday cards.
      Trying it out on some unsuspecting strangers is quite tempting really.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the cue is “fine”. I would be afraid if the question were answered with anything but that! Worse would be if someone expected me to answer with the scary detail!

    Like

    1. Just be sure your phone will always with you. Record the conversation secretly 😉 Seriously, if someone tell me the truth about heir life, I would be honored and really, really be interested and truly listen. People are source of endless fascination for me as well as inspiration for my writings..

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this, so true. Sadly. If we said how we truly are I am sure the asker(s) would give us “the look,” back away or run away. Social sites have taken the place of real world interaction in so much of the world, I blame them. Especially as “keeping up appearances” is the whole dynamic of being online or on social sites. Get one bit real and they scatter like dandelion fluff in a mild breeze.

    Like

    1. I love your description. People have to realized that no one’s life is as perfect as they posting it on social media. And those who are trying to keep up with the Joneses for the sake of acceptance have to remember what Mr. Bernard Baruch said:
      “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.”

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the idea. I can already imagine saying: “Well, I have just been to the loo because I have severe diarrhea and found out I have my monthly visit, luckily I have always a couple of tampons inside my handbag but when trying to put it in I accidentally pushed the darn thing so far back that I’ve lost it somehow. It is still stuck in there by the way. For the rest I’m really fine.Thanks for asking.”

      Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

