Sh!t

When it rains it pours, right?

Well, it’s constantly raining on my corner for the last three years now and I don’t see any sign of it letting up soon. It’s getting worse in fact that I’m not only beginning to question my faith along with everything else, it is also in serious danger of being carried away by the continues flooding.

Don’t get me wrong, I do know how to dance in the rain. In fact, I’m doing it whole my life already. I even wrote an article about it here. But you see dancing (in the rain or not) is not the same thing when you’re few hours away from twilight. You cannot compare it with your disco days when your bones and outlook were still so fresh you can smell the flowers on a pile of dung and can party the whole night through.  

Too much dancing in the rain lately and here I am… nursing a week of flu with ear infection plus a good dose of pneumonia, literally. Sometimes, I just want to do some unspeakable deeds to certain people especially when I have too much time in my hands bunch up in the sofa watching the news and seeing what’s happening out there… asking myself: what’s the grand plan on that? Works in mysterious ways my a$$!

So hard to get into a positive mind frame lately, peep talking myself feels like I’m some kind of a fraud trying to deceive myself. I know all about silver lining all the way down to John Milton’s Comus:

“Was I deceiv’d, or did a sable cloud

Turn forth her silver lining on the night?”

A hopeful or comforting prospect in the midst of difficulty indeed! If that silver lining will not be here soon, there will be nothing to shine on but a bag of dry old bones…

Go_The_Distance_by_neslihans

images: by neslihans

8 thoughts on “Sh!t”

  1. It’s definitely time for some sunshine on your corner. I hope you get well soon. The flu and pneumonia are serious. Sorry to hear that things suck right now. You really wrote about it beautifully.

    Like

  2. “it can’t rain all of the time” is my favorite line from the movie “The Crow”. My family has has umbrella out for quite some time, but I wake up every morning and pray for my rainbow.

    And you do write beautifully, if you look at things the right way (and you do) there is much beauty in ugly things. Keep dancing sister!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the encouragement. Your family is lucky to have someone like you with so much positive influence especially during rainy days. Here’s to rainbows and hopefully sunshine soon too.

      Like

      1. I’m laughing a little only because it rains here too and I am the worst one of our lot. Tell you what, whoever sees the rainbow first, has to share it with the other! And maybe our readers too.

        Like

  3. Praying that your health will soon return and I can identify with RAIN, I know its hard! And yes there are times we truly don’t understand! God understands your feelings, let HIM hold you steady as your world is shaking. HUGS!

    Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

