Surprises

I was walking this afternoon to clear my brain because I seem to be experiencing a blogger’s block which I think different from a writer’s block because I can still write if I have to and I didn’t run out of thoughts or topics to pen about but I have no desire to post or linger in Blogsville. Hell, I didn’t even make yesterday task which is kind of abnormal for an OC like me or perhaps it is just that the reality of life is catching up with me.

I will not go into details about it because no matter how personal my blog is, it has nothing to do with my personal life. Let’s just say that there are a lot of things going on around me lately and all of them major changes.  I seem to be always standing on crossroads these days, if crossroads exist in the sea and I’m on a raft heading to nowhere just paddling endlessly. Every which way but loose, baby.

This afternoon I was walking and I came across this dilapidated shack at the edge of the forest in the middle of a swamp far from any sign of life. It stood a little bit crooked and had broken windows. I always have been attracted to these kinds of places. I know it might sound strange but I feel there is life in there, stories untold, secrets waiting to be discovered. I went in.

In closer inspection I saw sign of occupation. There was some old furniture.  A broken table, gutted sofa and a chair with a missing leg stood in the middle of the room. I found couple of blankets on the floor, dirty but usable.  A pile of garbage stood in one corner, mostly food containers, wrappers, empty bottles of water and some broken glasses. There was a plastic bag full of folded papers tied up together. To me, they looked like letters.

If I have more time I will stay a bit longer and scrutinize the contents of the bag, probably read the letters. But as it was, I was running late (like always) and I wanted to reach my car before the sun go down on me. So, against my will I moved on. But I promised to myself I’ll be back when the weather is more cooperative, probably in the spring…

“Ah, life’s little surprises! They can make any day unforgettable… or make it your last.” ~ T.A. Barron 

Photo-0013 (2)e

5 thoughts on “Surprises”

    1. Well, my father was a black belt and used to teach karate…
      Sadly, he never managed to teach me 🙂 Ah, I always have a diving knife with me when I take a walk and I will not go down without a fight.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was thinking the same thing, a surprise it would be to come in contact with the inhabitants I love the photo and I think of all those movies where all those strange happenings happen in the middle of nowhere at least thats what the picture looks like, a lone house in the middle of the woods. I am intrigued about what those letters would say though, kind of like finding a message in a bottle.

    Like

    1. If I can only take them I will. But even reading them seem wrong to me. It is bad already that like AC said, I came snooping uninvited. But deep down inside, a little part of me regret that I didn’t take a handful with me but my conscience was again pitched high on my shoulder and kicking my head shouting: It’s wrong! it’s wrooonggg!!!

      As for risky as in the movie, I must admit I always come close to tempting the fate. Wait till I write a blog about what happened when we hike in Germany. That one gives me creeps every time I think about it.

      Liked by 1 person

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

