Sorrow

I picked a random word, did Google image search on it and checked out the eleventh picture it brought up, the photo above was the result. The word I typed is sorrow. Now, I have to write a post about whatever that image brings to mind and I don’t know where to start…

They say every life has a measure of sadness and every man has his secret sorrows which the world knows not; I can only assume it is true. Show me a person who is nothing but all happiness and I say either he is mad or lying.

We all experience grief in some point of our lives. There is no less or greater sorrow, like there is no small or big problem, it is just a matter of perception.  This reminds me of what my son said to me a long time ago when I asked him why he always gives in with the caprices of his sister. He said:

“Mama, her troubles and grief are greater than mine because she believes it to be. It doesn’t matter if they are of no importance, for her it is the end of the world, you can see it in her eyes and that is what counts.”

What he said, true or not stays with me and made me realize that like most things, we experience sadness and loss in a personal level. We cannot attach a degree to someone’s sufferings and compare it with ours. Everyone has their own way of coping with everything, that’s why it is very difficult to judge human’s emotions and actions.  Sometimes, we have to stretch our patience and broaden our understanding to be able to accommodate certain events and see them from another perspective. Because I really do believe that there are different sides in every story no matter how complicated or simple it might look at first glance.

Sorrow (related or not) nudges me to think of a quote from Jane Austen which goes like this:

“Personal size and mental sorrow have certainly no necessary proportions.  A large bulky figure has as good a right to be in deep affliction, as the more graceful set of limbs in the world.  But, fair or not fair, there are unbecoming conjunctions, which reason will patronize in vain, — which taste cannot tolerate, — which ridicule will seize.”

Happy blogging and I wish everyone a wonderful week ahead…

Favim.com-37326

image: favin 

16 thoughts on “Sorrow”

  1. You write so well. I love your son’s comment. I half expected to see that he was only 5 years old when he said that, but I’m guessing he was a little older.:) Very wise words and I like the Jane Austen quote too!

    Like

    1. Yes, he is wise beyond his age. He told me too when he was 14 and I was planning to re-marry that the man though a dear one would not be suited for adventurous bohemian me. My son is now teaching French/Latin/Greek and Dutch literature in the university.
      Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am happy to find people like you too 🙂 I have always felt that I’m strange for people never understood me but WordPress people are like another culture living on another planet. 🙂 Awesome!

        Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

