Misunderstood

“The most important things are the hardest to say. They are the things you get ashamed of, because words diminish them — words shrink things that seemed limitless when they were in your head to no more than living size when they’re brought out. But it’s more than that, isn’t it?

The most important things lie too close to wherever your secret heart is buried, like landmarks to a treasure your enemies would love to steal away. And you may make revelations that cost you dearly only to have people look at you in a funny way, not understanding what you’ve said at all, or why you thought it was so important that you almost cried while you were saying it.

That’s the worst, I think. When the secret stays locked within not for want of a teller but for want of an understanding ear.”

~ Stephen King

__Untold_Stories__

images: wallride13 and untoldstories

13 thoughts on “Misunderstood”

  1. I really like this quote you have posted. It reminds me of something in the Tao Te Ching which says (variously translated), “The Tao that can be spoken of is not the eternal Tao.” As Stephen King has said, some things are diminished when we try to express them. Nonetheless it is good to try and explain our experience and our perspective to others, and to listen, with a sympathetic ear, to what others are trying to share and thereby we are both enriched.

    Like

    1. Like I said so many times already, some people forget that we can learn a lot about others by merely listening. We don’t have to be always the star of the show, give others chances to be heard.
      Sorry for the late reply but my comments land on spam folder lately. I don’t know why.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like this quote. I think people often don’t want advice, to be helped, to be lectured, or anything really, other than to be understood.

    Like

  3. I like this quote. I often am the ear people turn to. I really do enjoy listening to other people share and open up. I don’t always have advice to give but, often times, we can figure out the resolution to a situation when given the opportunity to talk it through, without interruption.

    Like

  4. I love this quote, and it immediately made me think about work. In a good way though (I’m a therapist). It’s so important for people to bring to life the secrets they keep in their mind. This is the journey towards healing, self-awareness, and enlightenment. I believe there are many in this world who will truly hear if the fear to speak is faced.

    Like

    1. Though I am skeptical towards psychologist/psychiatrist and the likes, I have respect for their jobs. If what they do help people, then it is good. I agree with you for the rest.

      Like

      1. I know better than to take your comment personally, but I cannot help but feel disheartened by the statement you make about being skeptical. I am a therapist, and there is no “if what they do help people”. My patients would die without treatment. I hope you will reconsider your skepticism because such a stance is what creates a stigma around mental health and results in people who suffer feeling fearful of the labels they will receive for seeking help. If you are emotionally well-balanced than great, therapy and medications are likely not necessary for you to enjoy life. I would hope you don’t become skeptical though just because you don’t need it. I would hope you wouldn’t tell a cancer patient “if the doctor and chemo help you then it is good, but I’m skeptical about doctors”. Sorry for the rant, I don’t mean to come across as defensive. I’m hoping to give you a different perspective as I am very passionate about my work.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Don’t take my comment personally and no, you are not being defensive either. My being skeptical comes from somewhere. I did visit a psychiatrist in the past and he told me that I have a luxury problem and a third world mentality. Most of my race are struggling with where the next meal is coming from and I am worrying about nightmares he said. I know that I don’t have to generalize my view based on that one visit to the wrong person and I am not doing that also that’s why I used skeptical instead of saying I don’t outright believe what they are doing. I hope this clear every misunderstanding (if there is any) between us. I respect your individual opinion and will continue to do so.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No hard feelings or personalizing on my end. I hope at some point you are able to give another professional a try someday and then have a good connection with him/her. There are some people in mental health who are just A-holes or too intellectual to work with people.

        Like

      4. I forget to tell you that I am a registered nurse and worked for a long time in closed facility for patients with mental handicap . It becomes too heavy after a while so I decided to pursue my dream and become an interior designer instead. I thought I mention this so you know I understand where you coming from. All the best.

        Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

