Mystery

The sky is deep, the sky is dark.

The light of the stars is so damn stark.

When I look up, I fill with fear.

If all we have is what lies here,

This lonely world, this troubled place,

Then cold dead stars and empty space…

Well, I see no reason to persevere,

No reason to laugh or shed a tear,

No reason to sleep or ever to wake,

No promises to keep, and none to make.

And so at night I still raise my eyes

To study the clear but mysterious skies

That arch above us, as cold as stone.

Are you there, God? Are we alone?

 

~ The book of counted sorrows

cfeee982bbfe346974eead196879a681

Header image: chizue

7 thoughts on “Mystery”

    1. This year I came to some remarkable conclusions about religion and faith. I will write a post about it one of these days. I always believe in higher power and quite religious but something had happened that made me question the authenticity of my beliefs.

      Like

      1. My faith involves Jesus and the Christian faith, but not in a building, just from the Bible. I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

        Like

      2. I can’t remember anymore the last time I’ve been to mass.I go to church from time to time though to sit there and reflect and light candles. I still want to believe.

        Happy New year and may we have a more productive year ahead. Take care.

        Liked by 1 person

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

