perfect companion

I have a weapon in every room. No, not a gun (though I prefer to have one but…)

In the master bedroom, I have an axe which I bought accidentally without even knowing I did. I mentioned it already before, being in a DIY shop and admiring this beautiful little axe and testing the weight in my hand. In my memory, I put it back; but when I checked out I found that the cute axe was among my purchased. I didn’t return it. Not even crossed my mind to do so.

In the guest room I have this gorgeous ice pick. It feels good in the hand and looks so… harmless. I keep it in the laundry basket. The axe is hidden between my clothes. In the other bedroom there is a hammer, sleek and thin and all steel. It got a slim neck and easy handle of perforated rubber material for a good grip.

Kitchen… also a hammer but in different style, square head and really, heavy.

I know the place by itself is an arsenal, I don’t have to secure it one might say, but I feel better that way. Besides, anyone would know about the knives; but I’m the only one who know about the hammer (grin)

Next to the TV is a real axe, almost as tall as me. I found it in the shed when we bought the house. Must be for chopping wood, but I like it so much I wanted to hang it on the wall; but I can’t do it without damaging too much the already damaged wall, so on the floor it remains.

Why on earth I have these things? Same reason why I am locking doors of whatever room I’m in, I don’t want to be surprised defenceless. I remember buying two; no three massive bronze cats with extra long necks (for easy grip) from auction and putting them on my night stand simply because I thought it will come in handy. And I even hate cats!

And of course all that beautiful fireplace accessories! Poker and all! Handy.

All my candle holders are bought with the same purpose in mind. I can be anywhere in the house and I will be able to depend myself (ha ha) I remember the look on everyone’s face when I decided to put grills inside the French windows of the garage.

But they don’t see what I see. I can understand why they have to put locks and bolts and that entire security thing on doors but will leave the garage at the mercy of anyone who wants to come in. That window there take up the entire top half of the whole place, and it’s not even double glazed! Amazing!  It’s like saying: come in, come in.

What my-reason-for-living-in-Europe thinks about it…? I don’t really know. As far as I can see, it doesn’t bother him at all. He said he sleeps better when I’m in the room (God knows what that means) and I sleep better when nobody is around. I cannot even stand a smell of another individual on sheets and pillow cases. I want the room to smell fresh forever and its damn difficult if someone is insisting to sleep in it…

 

Bride_by_Kiraan

27 thoughts on “perfect companion”

  1. :))) You know, after seeing that other blog of yours, all flowers, forests and tranquil walks – who would’ve thought! 🙂 I also like good doors, locks and preferably flats and not on a ground floor – feeling weird in a house without neighbours. But I think you can actually write pretty good suspense novels – your description of the armoury was pretty menacing 🙂

    Like

    1. One of these days I will send you another link to one of my posts about my dream house 😉 I have so many facets (like everyone else I guess) My mind is full of labyrinth of dark corridors too complex and too dangerous to explore.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. To tell you frankly, I never consider writing that sort of genre. Maybe you’re right… I have to start writing about things I know a lot of and good at. Truly worth considering. Thanks for the idea.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Although, I’m too scared to read those types of books 😀 Reading some of Steven King was an attempt to fight that fear, but in the end I though it’s not worth it and gave up 😀

        Like

      3. My real fear is people. I’m scared of people in general. I know what they are capable of. Look at the news lately… but we’re not going there. Politics and religion are tricky grounds to stand on let alone discuss. Nobody is right and no one is wrong. What I love about King is his ability to turn mundane every day occurrences and things scary. But Poe is my ultimate hero and idol because he was what he wrote.

        Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

