Crossroad again…

After renovating extensively spending every waking hours and every available cash to modify beautify and glorify, we are now selling our six bedrooms two bathrooms 3 reception rooms Edwardian dwelling.  A house we thought would be our home and will be spending the rest of our days puttering in the garden.

Now that the tress are finally settling down after I uprooted them from their natural forest habitat and transferred them cruelly in my plot to create a woodland garden, now that the plants I spent thousands of dollars for (okay, some of them I have stolen from public parks, but only cuttings never the whole plant) are starting to established and flourish after moving them around quite a lot to have the desired effect and proper location according to the movements of the sun and their needs of it, I am selling the place.

Only last year we built an state-of-the-art gazebo bigger than most average suburban homes designed as a house complete with rooms one mostly finds in a normal abode except the bathroom and enjoyed so many summer months lazing under it thinking we were in the south of France (which is the general feeling the place gives us) listening to the songs of insects mingling with that of birds surrounded with thousands species of flowering plants and tall grasses we thought life indeed is grand. And now I am selling all of that.

Why one might ask? The answer is I don’t know. Probably because it’s too big for only two people, perhaps because the last winter had been quite hard and took longer than normal and this kind of house one cannot heat properly even with the central heating at full force with the help of couple of log burners and for rheumatoid arthritic like myself it is really suffering unless one wants to burn every dollar one owns and some more (God knows I’ve done that for 5 years in a row) and ended up in welfare losing the house in the process. 

Maybe it’s the beautiful garden itself. Everyone who knows a bit about gardening would realize how difficult and time-consuming it is to tend and maintain a cottage garden (plus-plus) and in my recent and fast declining situation/condition, the future isn’t so bright. So, selling is the only option, how sad is that?

The new house.

I call it downgrading, but my reason –to- live -in -Belgium strongly argues and disagrees. He said it’s just another type of house but not necessarily inferior in comparison. They call it a villa, I call it a bungalow. Well, at least it is detached has a driveway and landscaped garden surrounding the property. The plot is approximately same size as our last but because the house itself sits in the middle, it looks smaller. So much so that I can see the end of the garden just by looking out the window (which is not the case in my current abode) I always want a garden where you can create rooms and explore while others tend to gravitate towards football fields and expanse of lawns. Sorry but one can hardly call a square of green grass a garden. There is a huge difference.

Why on earth we bought it? Well, the answer is I don’t know. I always said that I will never buy a house next to a busy road (it is) and I will never consider purchasing a property in the middle of nowhere, meaning very far from amenities like bakery, shops, butchers etc. (it is) and I am always reluctant to look at smaller places where I cannot bring and fit my furniture in (now we’re selling those too) but the moment I enter the threshold of this villa/bungalow, I was sold I already wanted to sign on the dotted line without even seeing the rest.

Why? Maybe because it’s new and no one lives there yet, perhaps it’s the interior decoration done in earthy colours which I love the most and everything in its proper place, no mess no cluttered. Probably the sleek modern contemporary design of the place coupled with subtle hint of character that done me in, I don’t know.

You see, even though the house is almost 16 years old, it always been a model home. Meaning the company who build these type of houses used this property as a show piece, as a direct result the house is done in a highest possible quality and maintained throughout the years (they even changed the entire roof two years ago) it much like buying a showroom stock car, you got a lot of extras which normally not included unless you pay for it.

Like I said before, the garden is landscaped complete with fancy spots and mood lighting; the terraces are already there and immaculately done, there is burglar alarm and so forth and so on…

For the first time ever, I don’t have to renovate. Not even as much as holding a paint brush (which I have difficulties lately) it’s like eating out in a restaurant; you get to eat super food without the hassle of cooking and washing up afterwards. Okay, you pay premium for the privilege but aren’t we at some point willing to part with some extra cash if we know it is worth the hassle?

I don’t know what life would bring in this new place. I have no idea if we could love it as much as we love our current home (which is not much I guess if we’re willing to sell. Think of it like marriage. One will not divorce one spouse simply because s/he gotten old or ill like having rheumatoid arthritis) I have no idea how long we would stay in this place (I hope forever because we bought the property with an eye for later development like: this one is accessible in all sides with wheelchair and needed not much of maintenance inside or outside plus the EPC is low which you normally get in those modern eco-friendly houses) one thing is for sure, I would bring as many plants as I could from my former dwelling for two reasons. One is I can’t live without a cottage garden and abundance of flowers and buzzing of insects and songs of birds around me. Another is for sure whoever will be the new owner of my Edwardian gem would transform the garden into a football field and I will never forgive myself if those plants I lovingly tended for years would die and perish simply because some people cannot appreciate beauty in nature…

To be continued…

Guest_room_by_zhangyuan18e

10 thoughts on “Crossroad again…”

  1. Wonderful blog! Do youu have anny recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start myy own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there tha I’m
    totally overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Thank you!

    Like

    1. i think i am not the right person to ask about these sort of things since i am also new to blogging and still testing the water. thanks for passing by and i wish you luck to whatever you might decide to do.

      Like

    2. If you are new to blogging, just poke around the site for awhile and you will learn. They give Blogging 101 and 201 free and Writing 101 and 201 free. If you are an aspiring writer, you may be interested in joining the Writers Hub. It is for aspiring writers. There is a weekly writing challenge, after your story is submitted, the members of the Hub will read and make suggestions and comments.

      Like

    3. I like wordpress not only because it is free, but because of the community. As another commenter stated you can follow daily prompt and their blogging 101 and writing 101, 201, etc. This is what I am currently doing. good luck

      Like

  2. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do think that you should publish more on this issue, it might
    not be a taboo matter but typically people don’t talk about
    these subjects. To the next! All the best!!

    Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

