You talkin’ to me?

Inequality…

As a poor/asian/immigrant/woman, what can I say?

Inequality is a part of my daily life, whether I like it or not. If I’m going to blog about it, I might as well write my memoirs and autobiography for it practically sum up my whole existence.

So, we better not go there. God knows where we gonna end up if I start walking that way. Let’s talk about what happened yesterday instead…

Yesterday, I was in the cinema happily enjoying the intermission time when above the hushed conversation I heard someone talking about “us” in general. I resisted the urge to turn around and see who could that person be, but no matter how hard I try to play deaf I can still hear what he was saying. It was not difficult since he was talking quite loud which I’m sure was deliberately done for our benefits. There were three of “us” in the room, all women. The man said:

“That sort of women, F___ and T____ (mentioning our ethnic origins) on the surface they seem docile, accommodating and submissive but behind your back, my oh, my! And they have no understanding of for better or for worse because they would only stay when you’re thriving and this and that…”

I thought: is he talking out of experience or he just plain jealous that our partners managed to drag us (in my case, it was the other way around. Some people believe in fairies, I happened to believe in autobots and if you push me hard, I do believe in ninja turtles too but that’s for another post) to the cinema to see this kind of movie which normally doesn’t appeal to majority of women. Or perhaps he was just being plain obnoxious I don’t know…

In my mind’s eyes I saw myself standing, whirling around and doing a Robert de Niro classic:

“You talkin’ to me? You talkin’ to me? You talkin’ to me? Then who the hell else are you talkin’ to? You talkin’ to me? Well I’m the only one here. Who the f-ck do you think you’re talking to?”

But of course I didn’t do that. I was very tempted though, but what it would bring me? The best revenge in my book is to ignore those (prejudiced) people. It sends the message that they are not important enough to warrant my attention. Silence speaks volumes… sometimes.

Other times, maybe an Arnold Schwarzenegger classic will be a better option.

Kidding!

tonal-contrast-6

Reply To Daily Prompt: Unequal Terms

9 thoughts on “You talkin’ to me?”

  1. I think that you are rising above the prejudices! The old saying “The cream always rises to the top” was the first thing I thought of as I was reading your post.

    Like

Be memorable. Say something unforgettable.

